News News

Ravens honoured at Varsity Awards Banquet

Photo by Emily Ridlington

Carleton University’s Department of Recreation and Athletics is pleased to announce its award winners who were honoured at the annual Varsity Awards Banquet Thursday evening.

The Department of Recreation and Athletics would like to congratulate all the Ravens on a great 2014-2015 season.

Major awards

Female Athlete of the Year – Ruth Coe Memorial Award

Natasha Smith

This past season Natasha led her team by 40 points to finish tied for 3rd in the overall RSEQ stats for points with 70. The women’s rugby co-captain has had an incredible year participating in the FISU Games with Team Canada in the summer and with team Canada East at the Las Vegas tournament. Natasha rounded out her stellar year with a first-team CIS All-Canadian honour and a First-Team RSEQ All-Star.

Outstanding Graduating Female Athlete

Kendra Murray

Kendra led the way this season for the Ravens finishing first in the OUA Nordic Ski competition earning a First-Team OUA All-Star in the process. Kendra’s leadership and dedication paid off at this year’s national competitions earning a silver medal in the team sprints.

Male Athlete of the Year

Thomas Scrubb

Thomas played a key role in the Ravens’ successful recapture of the OUA championship and national’s title defence. Thomas led the scoring for the ravens during regular season play averaging 17.2 points per game and contributing an average of 7.6 rebounds per game. Thomas also earned the OUA and CIS Defensive Player of the Year, a First-Team OUA All-Star and First-Team CIS All-Canadian honours to cap off an incredible year.

Outstanding Graduating Male Athlete – Jack Vogan Memorial Award

Philip Scrubb

Phil led the way for the Ravens en route to their national championship victory this season. Phil averaged 29.33 points per game at the CIS Final 8 earning him a spot on the championship All-Star team and the tournament MVP honour. Phil was named both a First-Team OUA All-Star and First-Team CIS All-Canadian.

Coach of the Year – Pat O’Brien Memorial Award

Dave Smart

Coach smart led the Men’s basketball team to a 23-2 record against CIS competition in the regular season and playoffs en route to a 96-43 victory over the University of Ottawa to capture the team’s fifth straight CIS national championship and record setting 11th title in just 13 seasons. During the off season Dave is the assistant coach for the Canadian Men’s National Team that will be competing in the Pan-Am Games this summer in Toronto.

Other awards

Men’s Basketball

MVP – Thomas Scrubb
Doug Banton Award – Victor Raso

Women’s Basketball

MVP – Lindsay Shotbolt
Alumni Award – Abeer Farhat

Men’s Fencing

MVP – Geoff Devaney

Women’s Fencing

MVP – Emese Dukai-Branscombe


MVP – Natasha Smith
Alumni Award – Lina Hanhan

Men’s Golf

MVP – Albert Johnson

Women’s Golf

MVP – Samantha Coates

Men’s Nordic Skiing

MVP – Colin Abbott

Women’s Nordic Skiing

MVP – Kendra Murray

Men’s Rowing

MVP – Matthew Fournier

Women’s Rowing

MVP – Megan Haley

Men’s Soccer

MVP – Felix Daigle
Doug Banton Award – Michael Calof

Women’s Soccer

MVP – Veronica Mazzella
Alumni Award – Sarah Royer

Men’s Swimming

MVP – David Mackie

Women’s Swimming

MVP – Tyesha McGann

Men’s Water Polo

MVP – Ogi Gutovic
Doug Banton Award – Andrew Di Perna

Women’s Water Polo

MVP – Kaitlyn Dennema
Alumni Award – Emma Cooke

Men’s Hockey

MVP – Patrick Killeen
Doug Banton Award – Damian Cross

Women’s Hockey

MVP – Tawnya Guidon
Alumni Award – Ainslee Kent


MVP – Nathaniel Behar
Doug Banton Award – Tommy Kanichis

Varsity Volunteer Award

Tom Dempsey

Investors Group Champion’s Cup