Ravens News

WHKY: Ross’ breakout year earns U SPORTS All-Rookie recognition

Written by Peter Rukavina, Sports Information Assistant

Photo by Marc Lafleur

On Wednesday night, the 2016-17 U SPORTS Women’s Hockey All-Canadian banquet was held ahead of the national championship hosted by Queen’s University from March 16 to 19 in Napanee, ON.

Having reached the Ravens’ record books in her first season with the team, women’s hockey freshman forward Delaney Ross (Meadow Lake, SK) has been named to the U SPORTS All-Rookie Team for the 2016-17 season.

Delaney Ross
1st Year – Forward – Meadow Lake, SK
GP: 18   G: 8   A: 10   PTS: 18
U SPORTS All-Rookie Team

Through 18 games, Ross’ 18-point campaign (8G, 10A) tied a single-season record for most points by a Ravens’ player. She also became the first point-per-game (1.00 PPG) player in the program’s 13-year varsity stretch.

“The way the game is in our league, you have to be very good to achieve those kinds of numbers,” says Ravens head coach Pierre Alain. “We’re a low-scoring team, so to have someone who’s producing every game is invaluable. We scored 39 goals this year and she participated in almost half of them.”

Among all U SPORTS’ rookies, Ross finished in a tie for second in country-wide scoring. Her scoring total, which was matched by the Concordia Stinger’s Audrey Belzile, left her just five points shy of Brock Badgers’ forward and OUA Rookie of the Year Annie Berg, who tallied 23 points in six more games.

Despite the Ravens’ troubled second half, Ross managed a strong finish to the season. In her last four games, the Meadow Lake-native notched a goal and five assists, launching her to the front of a talented rookie class.

Ross becomes only the second Raven to receive a national honour, joining Kerri Palmer who was also named an All-Rookie Team selection in 2007-08.

The 2017 U SPORTS Women’s Hockey Championship, hosted by Queen’s University, gets under way Thursday at the Strathcona Paper Centre in Napanee, Ont., and will run until Sunday with the gold medal game at 7 p.m. ET. All games of the competition will be streamed on OUA.TV.