Ravens News

FENCE | Schuppe wins Epee All-Star, Varsity Blues repeat as OUA champs

Written by OUA

Photo by OUA

ST. CATHARINES, Ontario – The University of Toronto Varsity Blues hoisted the Kay Aoyama Trophy to claim the OUA Women’s Fencing Championship for a second consecutive season at Brock University on Sunday.

“It’s great to see the culmination of several months of hard work translate into some great performances,” said Varsity Blues head coach Thomas Nguyen. “Hard work paying off is always a nice reward.”

Toronto recorded a boatload of individual medals and team relay medals to put a definitive stamp on their second straight provincial banner.

Varsity Blues’ second-year fencer Emily Principe brought home a gold medal in the individual epee. Ryerson’s Natasha Kis-Toth (silver) and Western’s Olga Nova (bronze) also secured a medal.

Toronto’s Karina Li (silver) and Siobhan Drysdale (bronze) each earned medals in the individual foil event. Ottawa’s Naomi Moindrot-Zilliox captured gold.

Rebecca Jeffrey took silver in the sabre while Kayla Lambie of Western triumphed for gold and Ying Jia Chen of McMaster took bronze.

The Western Mustangs captured gold in both the sabre and epee team relay events.

The Mustangs’ epee team of Nicole Cheng, Jennifer Kaminker, Joanna Kasprzak, and Olga Nova overcame Toronto 41-38, while Ryerson slipped by Carleton 45-44 for the epee bronze medal.

In the sabre relay team, Western’s Kristin Dosen, Victoria Edwards, Kayla Lambie and Shalini Perugu defeated Toronto 45-24 for gold. The RMC Paladins captured bronze with a 45-36 win over Carleton.

Toronto’s foil relay squad of Siobhan Drysdale, Margaret Ho, Karina Li and Yuefan Lu claimed a gold medal with a 45-35 victory over Ottawa. Western edged RMC 43-42 in the bronze-medal match.


1 Toronto, 361
2 Western, 317
3 RMC, 141
4 Carleton, 126
5 Ryerson, 126
6 Ottawa, 113
7 Queen’s, 109
8 McMaster, 78
9 York, 43
10 Trent, 28
11 Waterloo, 25
12 Brock, 15
13 Guelph, 0


Foil Team
Gold: Toronto
Silver: Ottawa
Bronze: Western

Epee Team
Gold: Western
Silver: Toronto
Bronze: Ryerson
4th: Carleton – Sharon Schuppe, Katie Caparini, Katie McTaggart, Meia Copland

Sabre Team
Gold: Western
Silver: Toronto
Bronze: RMC
4th: Carleton – Marion Agier, Madelyn Krasnay, Christina Chu, Reanna Rus


Epee Individual
Gold (Al English Trophy): Emily Principe (Toronto)
Silver: Natasha Kis-Toth (Ryerson)
Bronze: Olga Nova (Western)
4th: Sharon Schuppe (Carleton)

Sabre Individual
Gold (Fred Wach Trophy): Kayla Lambie (Western)
Silver: Rebecca Jeffrey (Toronto)
Bronze: Ying Jia Chen (McMaster)
4th: Marion Agier (Carleton)

Foil Individual
Gold (Maitre Ken Wood Trophy): Noami Moindrot-Zillox (Ottawa)
Silver: Karina Li (Toronto)
Bronze: Siobhan Drysdale (Toronto)


Coach of the Year: Courtney Peeters (Trent)
Dave O’Donnell Trophy (Sportsmanship): Kayla Lambie (Western)
Epee All-Star – Sharon Schuppe (Carleton)
Foil All-Star – Danilla Xing (Western)
Sabre All-Star – Victoria Edwards (Western)