Ravens News

MBB | Ravens snatch top seed heading into Final 8

Written by U SPORTS

Photo by U SPORTS

TORONTO (U SPORTS) – The Calgary Dinos look to defend their first-ever W.P. McGee Trophy in program history when the 2019 U SPORTS Men’s Basketball Final 8 tournament tips off this week.

The Canada West champion Dinos, who completed just the fifth undefeated season in conference history, will open as the No. 2 seed behind the Carleton Ravens, who were named tournament favourites on Sunday. The Ravens will be looking to add to their record collection of 13 national titles since 2002, and eighth banner in nine seasons, after falling in the national semifinals last season.

Meanwhile, the Alberta Golden Bears earned the at-large berth, as the seeding and quarterfinal matchups were announced.

The 2019 U SPORTS Men’s Basketball Final 8, hosted by the Dalhousie Tigers in Halifax, kicks off on Friday at the Scotiabank Centre and concludes next Sunday with the gold-medal final at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT. The semifinals and final will be broadcasted live on Sportsnet 360, TVA Sports and SN NOW. All remaining games livestreamed at USPORTS.LIVE.

No. 1 Carleton Ravens

Playoff finish: OUA champions

Regular season / playoff records: 22-1 / 3-0

Last U SPORTS championship: 2017

Total U SPORTS championships: 13

Team offence: 91.3 points/game, 4th

Team defence: 59.3 points allowed/game, 1st

Team Leaders

Points per game: Eddie Ekiyor, 13.9

Rebounds per game: Eddie Ekiyor, 6.2

Assists per game: Munis Tutu, 4.3

The Carleton Ravens found themselves in a familiar spot at the end of the 2018-19 OUA regular season. They finished at the top of the OUA east division, earning a first-round bye into the quarterfinals in the process. The Ravens willed their way through the OUA competition, finishing the year with a 22-1 record. Their only loss came to rival Ryerson Rams on Jan. 26, a 78-74 decision at the Ravens’ Nest in Ottawa. The successful regular season campaign led to a number of individual awards for the Ravens. Carleton had three players named to the OUA All-Star teams (Eddie Ekiyor, TJ Lall and Munis Tutu). Marcus Anderson was named OUA Defensive Player of the Year for the OUA, his second career defensive POY award. Dave Smart was also awarded the Coach of the Year. The Ravens head into the Final 8 after defeating the Rams to capture the Wilson Cup in back to back seasons.

CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE

Thursday, Mar. 7

Meet the Teams Media Conference, 10:15 am ET / 7:15 a.m. PT

All-Canadian Awards Gala, 6 p.m. ET / 3:15 p.m. PT

Friday, Mar. 8 (Quarterfinals)

No. 2 Calgary vs. No. 7 Saint Mary’s, 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT

No. 3 Ryerson vs. No. 6 Concordia, 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT

No. 1 Carleton vs. No. 8 Alberta, 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT

No. 4 UBC vs. No. 5 Dalhousie, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT

Full championship schedule available here.