Ravens News

ROW | Ravens pull off another win over Gee-Gees at PD Ross Regatta

Written by Megan Jolley

Photo by Elizabeth Soubry

OTTAWA, Ontario – Ravens Rowing won the cup at the PD Ross Regatta again this year.  The varsity men and women as well as an alumni eight person crew fought hard against crews from the University of Ottawa, in one on one racing.  The alumni boats raced first over a two kilometer course on the Ottawa River starting at the mouth of Gatineau River to the Ottawa Rowing Club.

It was a tight race through to the finish line but the University of Ottawa alumni finished just ahead of the Carleton boat. The varsity eight person boats raced next over a five kilometer, out and back course made more challenging high winds and rough water. The Carleton women had a strong start, pulling away from the Ottawa women within the first 500 metres. At the turn around point Ottawa had gained speed but Carleton held them off. By the end of the race they were well ahead of Ottawa. The final race of the day had the men’s eight person boats battling for first. Carleton men’s crew came out on top, with at least 3 boat-lengths of water between the crews.

The PD Ross cup is awarded to the team that has the fastest cumulative time of the regatta. The Ravens won by an impressive 76 seconds.

The Ravens will see the GeeGees again along with other crews at Head of the Rideau Regatta on September 29th.


Emma Lindale, Meghan Jolley, Marilyn Irwin, Julia Zebarth, Emelyn Rodgers, Tess MacMillan, Abby Allair, Neve McKay, and Delaney Gilmore (coxswain)


Ben Koskowich, Hunter Amesbury, Vince O’Shaughnessey, Richard Sultmanis, Jeffrey Parkhouse, Owen Powell, Brendan McIntyre, Austin Krystek, and Nicholas Marini (coxswain)


Aly Pastic, Jamie Evans, Bailin Xie, Lucas Teeft, Luc Baudouin, Matt Lazurek, Paul Amesbury, Devon Sutherland, and Jenny McLeod (coxswain)