Ravens News

MWP | Varsity Blues win OUA gold over Ravens

Written by Western University

Photo by Western University

LONDON, Ontario – The Toronto Varsity Blues are 4-time defending OUA Champions after picking up a 12-9 win over the Carelton Ravens on Sunday afternoon.

“We knew it was going to be a very tough game and a close game” said Varsity Blues Head Coach Tuna Tali “It gets more and more difficult every year because of the amount of new faces on our team but we found a way to keep the intensity up and we’re extremely happy right now”.

The Blues jumped out to a 5-1 lead within the first five minutes of the game. Carelton responded in the 2nd quarter with three goals to cut the Toronto lead to 7-5 at half-time.

The Blues gathered themselves and came out strong in the 3rd quarter with four goals, two coming from Bruno Marunica and Toronto took an 11-7 lead into the 4th quarter.

After Toronto took a 12-7 lead, Carleton tried to make a late push with two more goals but it wasn’t enough.

“At the end of the day this is a volunteer position for us, I do this because I want to see the smiles on those players faces with medals around their neck,” said Tali “Three months ago I didn’t know some players names, now we are celebrating a championship so that is what matters most”.

The Varsity Blues took home both major award with Diego Gonzalez Delgado winning Most Valuable Player along with Andrei Velasevic who was named Most Valuable Goalie and Tony Giannatsis was named to the All-Star team.

“It feels amazing to be finishing out my 4th year with this team and to do it with a gold medal around my neck,” said Blues team captain Stefan Mitic “We lost nine players from last years team and had five new recruits this year but they jumped right in and bought in to our system and executed well.

Toronto has now won the OUA championship 34 times dating back to the early 1900’s.


The OUA Major Award Winners & All-Stars

Diego Gonzalez Delgado (Toronto) – Most Valuable Player / All-Star

Andrei Velasevic (Toronto) – Most Valuable Goalie / All-Star

David Lapin (Carleton) – All-Star

Colin Colterjohn (McMaster) – All-Star

Tony Giannatsis (Toronto) – All-Star

Alex LeBlanc (Queen’s) – All-Star

Rick Vermuelen (Western) – All-Star


Quinn Fairley (McMaster) – Coach of the Year