Ravens News

MBB | Ravens take home 2 major OUA awards and All-Star nominations

Written by OUA

Photo by Valerie Wutti

BURLINGTON, Ontario – Another year, another award for one of the most decorated players in Ontario University Athletics history. A third consecutive Player of the Year nod for the Laurentian superstar headlines a competitive campaign on the court, as both the Voyageurs and Carleton Ravens claim multiple accolades as part of the 2019-20 OUA men’s basketball major award winners and all-stars.

Rookie of the Year –Lloyd Pandi, Carleton Ravens

The only team to top Lam’s Thunderwolves in the OUA ranks this season was the Carleton Ravens, who soared to the nation’s number one seed all season long. While the Ravens have long found their success with a talented and deep cast of characters, one of their newest additions was able make a name for himself in a big way for the reigning OUA and U SPORTS champions. And for his on-court efforts, Lloyd Pandi has been named the 2019-20 Rookie of the Year. Finishing just outside the top 20 in conference scoring, Pandi was no stranger to point production on the year. He started his post-secondary journey with an 18-point outing against Waterloo and would go on to produce double-digit scoring in all but one of the games he suited up for this season. His 16.1 points per game, which included five nights of 20+ points, paced the top-ranked Ravens and he did so while also registering a team-high 22.8 minutes of court time. A big part of Pandi’s success on offence was his efficiency, as the all-rookie and first team all-star selection was successful on a U SPORTS-leading 66.1% of his field goal attempts.In addition to Pandi’s team-leading numbers on offence, the Ottawa, Ont. native also buoyed the black birds in rebounding (6.3 RPG) –with nearly half coming on the offensive glass (3.1; 5th in OUA) –and blocks (0.7 BLK/G), showcasing an all-around skill-set that goes well beyond someone just arriving on the university scene.

Coach of the Year –Taffe Charles, Carleton Ravens

Just like the Ravens are no strangers to successful players, they are also familiar with high-calibre coaching, something that they received from their new bench boss, Taffe Charles, this season. After leading the Ravens’ women’s team to lofty heights over his 12 years at the helm, he successfully transitioned into his new role with the men’s contingent en route to an OUA Coach of the Year selection in his debut season.The former Ravens player jumped right into his new role and led Carleton to a 21-1 record. With only the one blemish on an otherwise spotless record, the Ravens were a mainstay at the top of the national ranks, never wavering from the country’s No. 1 seed. With Charles at the helm, the team’s reign as the most dominant on both ends of the floor remained well intact, as they poured in a naton-best 97.8 points per contest, while holding the opposition to just 63.5. To help them achieve these grand numbers, Charles’ crew reeled off OUA-leading ranks in field goal percentage (50.9), three-point percentage (38.3), rebound margin per game (12.7) and turnovers per contest (10.5).While this marks the first time that Charles has garnered the recognition for his current role, he is no stranger to the accolade overall, having earned the distinction as the women’s coach of the year two years prior –the second such selection of his career after an East Division nod in 2009-10 –when he led his team to an undefeated season as both OUA and U SPORTS champions.

Major Award Winners

Player of the Year – Kadre Gray, Laurentian

Defensive Player of the Year – Lock Lam, Lakehead

Rookie of the Year – Lloyd Pandi, Carleton

Ken Shields Award – Litha Ncanisa, Laurentian

Coach of the Year – Taffe Charles, Carleton

Officials Award of Merit – Tony Turnbull


First Team All-Stars (presented by Wilson)

Kadre Gray, Laurentian

Calvin Epistola, Ottawa

Tevaun Kokko, Ryerson

Lloyd Pandi, Carleton

Isaiah Traylor, Lakehead


Second Team All-Stars

Jordan Henry, McMaster

Yasiin Joseph, Carleton

Ali Sow, Wilfrid Laurier

Tanor Ngom, Ryerson

Julian Walker, Western


Third Team All-Stars

Quinton Gray, Queen’s

Thomas Kennedy, Windsor

Lock Lam, Lakehead

Jayden Frederick, Ryerson

Munis Tutu, Carleton


All-Rookie Team

Lloyd Pandi, Carleton

Laoui Msambya, Lakehead

Graddy Kanku, Ontario Tech

Shakael Pryce, Windsor

Cole Syllas, Queen’s

full OUA release