## Carleton Ravens – Major Awards - Ruth Coe Award – Female Athlete of the Year

Frances Ruth Coe, a 23-year-old Physical Education teacher at Hillcrest HS died much too young on Tuesday, October 12, 1965 in Kingston, from injuries suffered in a car accident.

Ruth was an Ottawa native who attended Glebe Collegiate Institute and graduated in 1960. While at Glebe Ruth played/participated in a number of athletic activities but basketball was her favourite.

At Carleton Ruth played basketball for three years for the Carleton University Robins, as the Lady Ravens were known then, from 60-61 to 62-63. She was coached by Carleton Athletics Hall of Fame Coach Mavis McArthur. The 1960-61 team won the Stewart Trophy, at that time awarded to the top team in the Central Canada Women's Intercollegiate League.

She had been a teacher at Hillcrest for three years and was a specialist in Physical Education and a part- time History & Geography teacher. She was also the coach of the Hillcrest Girls' Track and Field and Swimming teams.

YEAR	ATHLETE - TEAM
1968-69	Gail Smith - Volleyball
1969-70	Charlotte Bigelow- & Gail Smith - Volleyball
1970-71	Elizabeth Ann Roe - Volleyball
1971-72	Kathy Johnstone - Volleyball
1972-73	Valerie Hughes - Basketball
1973-74	Elizabeth Brown - Basketball
1974-75	Maureen MacIntoch - Volleyball
1975-76	Janice Frezell - Fencing
1976-77	Vivian Leir - Fencing
1977-78	Marilyn Atkinson - Nordic Skiing
1978-79	Marilyn Atkinson - Nordic Skiing
1979-80	Clare Wasteneys - Nordic Skiing
1980-81	Nataley Nagy - Fencing
1981-82	Nataley Nagy - Fencing
1982-83	Nicky Majid - Basketball
1983-84	Nicky Majid - Basketball
1984-85	Joan McKenna - Basketball
1985-86	Jenny Walker - Nordic Skiing
1986-87	Rhonda Delong - Nordic Skiing
1987-88	Ailsa Metcalf - Nordic Skiing
1988-89	Rhonda Delong - Nordic Skiing
1989-90	Karen Anderson - Soccer & Jennifer Chalmers - Water Polo
1990-91	Carey Sookecheff - Water Polo
1991-92	Ailsa Eyvindson - Nordic Skiing
1992-93	Miriam Tyson - Nordic Skiing & Marilyn Johnston - Volleyball
1993-94	Erica Kotler - Swimming
1994-95	Waneek Horn-Miller - Water Polo
1995-96	Waneek Horn-Miller - Water Polo
1996-97	Erin Despard - Ski & Waneek Horn-Miller - Water Polo
1997-98	Titia Donker - Water Polo

1998-99	Katya Harchenko - Fencing
1999- <b>00</b>	Marianne Illing - Water Polo
2000-01	Michelle McEvoy - Field Hockey
2001-02	Mary Jo O'Brien - Field Hockey
2002-03	Megan McTavish - Nordic Skiing
2003-04	Megan McTavish - Nordic Skiing
2004-05	Mihaela Jekic - Nordic Skiing
2005-06	Eva Szabo - Nordic Skiing
2006-07	Rachel Baxter - Water Polo
2007-08	Anna Laurence - Fencing
2008-09	Tanya Perry - Basketball
2009-10	Kelleigh Ryan - Fencing
2010-11	Alyson Bush - Basketball
2011-12	Alyson Bush - Basketball
2012-13	Alyson Bush - Basketball
2013-14	Elizabeth Roach - Basketball
204445	National Contribution of

- 2014-15 Natasha Smith Rugby
- 2015-16 Megan Evans Nordic Skiing
- 2016-17 Heather Lindsay Basketball
- 2017-18 Elizabeth Leblanc Basketball
- 2018-19 Zoe Williams Nordic Skiing
- 2019-20 Zoe Williams Nordic Skiing
- 2020-21 No Season COVID
- 2021-22 Vanessa Chiapetta Rugby
- 2022-23 Kali Pocrnic Basketball
- 2023-24 Kali Pocrnic Basketball & Maggie McClure (Nordic Skiing)

## Notes

- 2023-24 marked the fifth year the award had been shared.
- Alyson Bush and Wannek Horn-Miller are the only three-time winner
- Two-time winners:
  - o Gail Smith (Volleyball)
  - Marilyn Atkinson (Nordic)
  - Nateley Nagy (Fencing)
  - Nicky Majid (Basketball)
  - Rhonda Delong\*
  - Megan McTavish (Nordic)
  - Zoe Williams (Nordic)
  - Kali Pocrnic (Basketball)]
- \* Did not win in consecutive years.

## Winners by team

**Basketball (14):** Valerie Hughes (73), Elizabeth Brown (74), Nicky Majiid (83, 84), Joan McKenna (85), Tanya Perry (09), Alyson Bush (11, 12 & 13), Elizabeth Roach (14), Heather Lindsay (17), Elizabeth Leblanc (18), Kali Pocrnic (23, 24)

**Fencing (7):** Janice Frezell (76), Vivian Leir (77), Nateley Nagy (81, 82), Katya Harchenko (99), Anna Laurence (08), Kelleigh Ryan (10)

Field Hockey (2): Michelle McEvoy (01), Mary Jo O'Brien (02)

**Nordic Skiing (17):** Marilyn Atkinson (78, 79), Ckaure Wasteneys (80), Jenny Walker (86), Rhonda Delong (87, 89), Ailsa Metcalf (88), Miriam Tyson (93), Erin Despard (97), Megan McTavish (03, 04), Mihaela Jekic (05), Eva Szabo (06). Megan Evans (16), Zoe Williams (19, 20), Maggie McClure (24)

Rugby (2): Natasha Smith (15), Vanessa Chiapetta (22)

Soccer (1): Karen Anderson (90)

Swimming (1): Erica Kotler (94)

**Volleyball (7):** Gail Smith (69, 70), Charlotte Bigelow (70), Elizabeth Ann Roe (71), Kathy Johnstone (72), Maureen MacIntosh (75), Marilyn Johnston (93),

Water Polo (8): Jennifer Chalmers (90), Carey Sookecheff (91), Waneek Horn-Miller (95, 96, 97), Titia Donker (98), Marianne Illing (00), Rachel Baxter (07)