Ravens News

FENCE – Ravens take home team silver, All-Star awards at OUA championships

Written by OUA

Photo by Seyran Mammadov

TORONTO, Ontario – The host Varsity Blues edged the Carleton Ravens by two points to claim their fourth consecutive provincial banner as the 2019 OUA men’s fencing championship wrapped up on Sunday evening (Feb. 10) at the University of Toronto’s Athletic Centre Field House.

The Varsity Blues finished with 252 points, ahead of the Carleton Ravens (250) and bronze medalist RMC Paladins (214).

Ottawa’s Patrick Fournier was awarded the George Tully Trophy, presented to the male fencer most proficient in skill, style and sportsmanship as judged by a panel of judges, while Rodney Carter of the Queen’s Gaels earned OUA coach of the year honours.

In addition to Day 1’s individual medalists, Carleton’s Phillip McCully and Zac Zanussi, as well as RMC’s Garrett Whelan earned OUA all-star honours.

TEAM RELAYS: The RMC Paladins were the first to reach the podium on Day 2 as Hugo Clements, Kyle Grenier, Garrett Whelan and Gerson Zamor topped Carleton’s team of Sean Cordeiro, Mo Ghazal, Alex Girard and Kusey Gunesli in the sabre team relay final. The Brock Badgers team of Ryan Garcia, Dylan Head, Aaron Olmstead and Alexander Preston defeated the host Varsity Blues to claim the bronze medal.

Buster Biggs, Nick Hepner, Daniel Manyoki and Philip McCully of the Carleton Ravens then topped U of T’s David Chen-Li, Teophile Lemay, Ben Xu and Leon Yao to win the foil team relay, with Waterloo’s Ryan Brennan, Gareth Marks, Caleb Tseng-Tham and Dexter Van Leeuwen defeating the Brock Badgers in the bronze-medal showdown.

The host Blues claimed the epee team relay as Nathaniel Adamian, Colin Dale, Beston Leung and Johnathan Zimmerman defeated the Queen’s Gaels squad of Gavin Crowder, Matthew Litwin, Rory McEwen and Spencer McGregor in the final. RMC’s DJ Holtz, Byoungchan Kim, Scott MacGregor and Kyle MacKinnon defeated Carleton to finish third overall.

INDIVIDUAL COMPETITION: Ottawa’s Patrick Fournier claimed the Charles Walters Trophy as the individual foil champion, narrowly defeating Carleton’s Daniel Manyoki, 15-13, in the final. Malcolm McLeod of the Brock Badgers defeated Waterloo’s Gareth Marks, 15-12, to claim the bronze medal.

U of T’s veteran Colin Dale claimed his second career Desjarlais Trophy as the men’s epee individual champion. Dale defeated Western’s Rick Wu, 15-8, in the final, while Alexander Zwegers of the Ryerson Rams defeated Spencer McGregor of Queen’s, 15-11, for the bronze medal.

York’s Adrien Sparling took home the Schwende Trophy as the OUA men’s sabre individual champion after a dominant 15-6 victory over Brock’s Aaron Olmstead. Carleton’s Ghazal Mo placed third, defeating RMC’s Gerson Zamor 15-9 in the bronze-medal match.


1 Toronto, 252

2 Carleton, 250

3 RMC, 214

4 Brock, 176

5 Queen’s, 126

6 Ryerson, 103

7 Ottawa, 89

8 Western, 82

9 York, 76

10 Waterloo, 71

11 McMaster, 47

12 Guelph, 11

13 Trent, 0


George Tully Trophy (Skill, Style & Sportsmanship): Patrick Fournier, Ottawa
Coach of the Year: Rodney Carter, Queen’s

OUA All-Stars


Patrick Fournier, Ottawa
Daniel Manyoki, Carleton
Malcolm McLeod, Brock

Phillip McCully, Carleton

Colin Dale, Toronto
Rick Wu, Western
Alexander Zwegers, Ryerson

Zac Zanussi, Carleton


Adrien Sparling, York
Aaron Olmstead, Brock
Mo Ghazal, Carleton

Garrett Whelan, RMC


Foil Team
Gold: Carleton (Buster Biggs, Nick Hepner, Daniel Manyoki, Philip McCully)
Silver: Toronto (David Chen-Li, Teophile Lemay, Ben Xu, Leon Yao)
Bronze: Waterloo (Ryan Brennan, Gareth Marks, Caleb Tseng-Tham, Dexter Van Leeuwen)

Epee Team
Gold: Toronto (Nathaniel Adamian, Colin Dale, Beston Leung, Johnathan Zimmerman)
Silver: Queen’s (Gavin Crowder, Matthew Litwin, Rory McEwen, Spencer McGregor)
Bronze: RMC (DJ Holtz, Byoungchan Kim, Scott MacGregor, Kyle MacKinnon)

Sabre Team
Gold: RMC (Hugo Clements, Kyle Grenier, Garrett Whelan, Gerson Zamor)
Silver: Carleton (Sean Cordeiro, Mo Ghazal, Alex Girard, Kusey Gunesli)
Bronze: Brock (Ryan Garcia, Dylan Head, Aaron Olmstead, Alexander Preston)


Foil Individual (Full Results)
Gold (Charles Walters Trophy): Patrick Fournier, Ottawa
Silver: Daniel Manyoki, Carleton
Bronze: Malcolm McLeod, Brock

Epee Individual (Full Results)
Gold (Desjarlais Trophy): Colin Dale, Toronto
Silver: Rick Wu, Western
Bronze: Alexander Zwegers, Ryerson

Sabre Individual (Full Results)
Gold (Schwende Trophy): Adrien Sparling, York
Silver: Aaron Olmstead, Brock
Bronze: Mo Ghazal, Carleton