Ravens News

Chiappetta and Pandi Named Athletes of the Year

Written by Carleton Sports Information

OTTAWA – The Department of Recreation and Athletics is proud to announce Vanessa Chiappetta and Lloyd Pandi have been named Athlete of the Year during Carleton’s annual award presentations.

After recording one of the most impressive offensive seasons in program history, Ravens rugby back Vanessa Chiappetta has been awarded the Ruth Coe Memorial Award as women’s athlete of the year. The Rigaud, Quebec, product turned in the fifth highest-scoring season in program history recording 44 points including seven tries.

The Carleton Ravens have named Lloyd Pandi as the men’s Athlete of the Year. The award is given to Pandi for the demonstration of outstanding athletic ability during the current year in Carleton’s interuniversity program.

In addition to Athlete of the Year, Carleton presented annual awards to the top graduating athletes, coach and volunteer of the year and team MVPs.

  • Ruth Coe Award – Female Athlete of the Year (est. 1968-69) – Vanessa Chiappetta, Women’s Rugby
  • Male Athlete of the Year (est. 1954-55) – Lloyd Pandi, Men’s Basketball
  • Outstanding Graduating Female Athlete (est. 1978-79) – Roberta Drummond, Women’s Rugby
  • Jack Vogan Memorial Medal – Outstanding Graduating Male Athlete (est. 1962-63) Alain Louis, Men’s Basketball
  • Pat O’Brien Award – Ravens’ Coach of the Year (est. 2002-03) – Taffe Charles, Men’s Basketball
  • Varsity Council Volunteer Award – Melanie Judges, Women’s Rugby

Team MVPs

  • Aiden Warnholtz, men’s basketball
  • Kali Pocrnic, women’s basketball
  • Daniel Manyoki, men’s fencing
  • Jillian Hu-Tchernykh, women’s fencing
  • Brandon Forcier, football
  • Daniel Ryan, men’s golf
  • Emma Harvie, women’s golf
  • Aaron Boyd, men’s hockey
  • Marie-Eve Cote, women’s hockey
  • Devon Pegrum, men’s nordic skiing
  • Kate Mason, women’s nordic skiing
  • Brendan Edge, men’s rowing
  • Meghan Jolley, women’s rowing
  • Lauryn Walker, women’s rugby
  • Ricky Comba, men’s soccer
  • Mya VanHaster, women’s soccer
  • Leandro Velazquez, men’s water polo